Love, Reckless and Eternal


heart drawn in sandI just watched Never Let Me Go, a movie about love and loss. It followed the lives of three unique children from a boarding school into their adulthood. A boy and two girls.

Threads of color, muted and bold, wove the story together. Love, always the first of the threads, strong and durable—the most durable. Yet the threads of fear and jealousy bind the characters, with words unspoken, actions left undone, and other steps taken that should not have been taken. The thread of loss arises without warning, yet at the same time, you knew it was coming.

Every love has its risk of loss, not only the risk, but the nigh assurance of loss. But the greater loss is when we let our fears keep us from loving. Love can be dangerous. It can hurt. But love, true love, is always worth it.

There is always that love we hold onto tightly, afraid of losing it. Sometimes, though, if we hold on too tight, we lose something even more special, more enduring. True love, on earth, is imperfect. Nothing on this earth is perfect…not now…not yet. Love will always involve sacrifice. The greatest love that ever walked this earth was also the greatest sacrifice. The greatest Gift paid the ultimate price.

And those who walk in the footsteps of that Love will also feel the twinge of pain, the price of loving in a dying world.

Why?

Why does love at times have to cost so much?

Back to the movie. The thread of love was the strongest and endured past the fear as we see a new slender thread weaving through the story: surrender. A woman who knew what she was called to do and to be, who never kicked against the pricks, even when those pierces came from the ones she loved the most.

There are times we know what we are called to do. And it’s hard. If it were up to us, we would choose a different path entirely. But then, there is no path that we can see through to the end.

But there is Someone who can.

If we follow the path we know we are led to—though it seems we tread on rocky, dry places and we feel we journey alone—it will lead to that which we have always dreamed of, hoped and prayed for. It has been promised us.

A place where every tear will be wiped away. Where sorrows and pain will be no more. Where we will never, ever have to say goodbye.

The choice is always before us. To hold on now, tightly, to that which we can see and feel, but cannot even control.

Or to let go. To trust. To follow, blindly at times, and through a veil of tears. But then to find, one day, that which we sacrificed is returned to us with a seal on it, a seal that says “forever.”

I recently heard a song for the first time, “All of Me”. The song is also about love and loss. It had a different angle than the movie, but it also touched on fear. Why is fear always the biggest hurdle that love has to face?

Perfect love casts out fear.

Perfect love. My love is not perfect. Far from it. No love is perfect. I think it is when we love, in spite of the fears, that love has a chance.

When we forego the chance, when we do not take the risk, all we are left with in the end is regrets.

We can stand, at the end of our life, spending most of our time looking backward, with regret at all that we failed to do.

Or we can stand, at the end of our life, looking forward, knowing that we did lose, but that we loved.

And love is what matters most. It always has been. For it is the golden strand that will endure the fires of life and come through to the Other Side, refined, pure, eternal.

[Lyrics of “All of Me” by Matthew Hammit]

Afraid to love
Something that could break
Could I move on
If you were torn away?
And I’m so close to what I can’t control
I can’t give you half my heart
And pray He makes you whole

You’re gonna have all of me
You’re gonna have all of me
‘Cause you’re worth every falling tear
You’re worth facing any fear
You’re gonna know all my love
Even if it’s not enough
Enough to mend our broken hearts
But giving you all of me is where I’ll start

I won’t let sadness steal you from my arms
I won’t let pain keep you from my heart
I’ll trade the fear of all that I could lose
For every moment I share with you

You’re gonna have all of me
You’re gonna have all of me
‘Cause you’re worth every falling tear
You’re worth facing any fear
You’re gonna know all my love
Even if it’s not enough
Enough to mend our broken hearts
But giving you all of me is where I’ll start

Heaven brought you to this moment, it’s too wonderful to speak
You’re worth all of me, you’re worth all of me
So let me recklessly love you, even if I bleed
You’re worth all of me, you’re worth all of me

You’re gonna have all of me
You’re gonna have all of me
‘Cause you’re worth every falling tear
You’re worth facing any fear
You’re gonna know all my love
Even if it’s not enough
Enough to mend our broken hearts
But giving you all of me is where I’ll start

There is Someone who considered us worth all of Him. His love was reckless. He did bleed. He died. Yet His love overcame all fears. It is what promises us life forever, and what’s more…forever love. He gave me all of Himself.

How can I do less?

One comment on “Love, Reckless and Eternal

  1. David says:

    Beautifully written! Wonderfully expressed!

    Like

Your Thoughts?

