Hope at Easter


The questions burn within my soul

The passion fills my being

The desire for a hardened heart

To open and find healing

 

And as I feel it touch my own

The questions slowly rise

If I had walked that same sad path

Would my life hold its matching cries?

 

Would I still have found my way?

Or would questions be my life?

Would skepticism wrest my world

And try to mold my mind?

 

Would I have found His tender heart?

My destiny therein?

Would I have known I play a part?

A dying world to tend?

 

Would I have closed my eyes to truth?

Pretended there was none?

Would I have tried to comprehend

No life beyond this one?

 

I am told belief takes faith

Yet what but truth is shown?

Is it harder to believe in love

Or in a heart of stone?

 

Does it bring light in life to say

That faith is nothing but a curse?

To claim there is no deeper rationale

I can’t perceive much worse

 

Than living life as if it had

No purpose and no reason

Nothing more than an existence

That passes with life’s swift season

 

I close my eyes and feel the breeze

Whisper to my seeking soul

I feel a love caress my heart

A touch that always makes me whole

 

Although the way, it might be long

Though tears at times may flow

Though darkness sweeps across the land

Casting shadows over the way I go

 

Yet still the purpose brightly shines

Its way into my heart

A destiny I know is mine

From this I’ll never part

 

The heart that seeks is sure to find

A love greater than mind’s reason

A love abiding that cannot die

Or fade with passing seasons

 

A love that framed the world we see

The very reason and source of life

Creating a bridge to realms beyond

Cutting through the veil like a knife

 

Pouring passion and love upon these lands

By blood that flowed from a broken heart

The sacrifice fulfilled sin’s demands

And pledges a fresh and spotless start

 

In choosing love, I’m choosing life

Reaching out with an eternal soul

Speaking hope into a wilting heart

Knowing only love can make it whole

 

One day a heart will break out and rise

From disbelief’s grey, cheerless prison

Embracing light, and truth and love

Speaking with a heart of joy those glad words:

“He is risen!”

Your Thoughts?

