The Business of Life … Finding Time in the Busyness


It’s not very easy

In this crazy-busy world of today

To find time to stop and think

Much less time to pray

But it is my New Year’s resolution, and as I try to make it more a part of my life, I find that there is so much that can be done, that needs to be done, in the realm of prayer.

I feel, in some ways, like a child, dabbling in something I know nothing about.

In other ways, I feel like an explorer, on the verge of an amazing discovery.

And at other times, I feel like I don’t have time to stop and pray at all. Of course, I wish I did, and I want to … but so much – both outside and within me – fights against these times.

Something I read today, in Between Heaven and Earth by Ken Gire, expresses it like this …

What is prayer?

The chance of meeting you,

Of drawing close to the love that made me,

And keeps me, and known me.

And, Lord, it’s only just begun.

There is so much more of you,

Of love, the limitless expanse of knowing you.

I could be frightened, Lord, in this wide country.

It could be lonely, but you are here, with me.

 

The chance of learning about myself,

Of facing up to what I am.

Admitting my resentments,

Bringing my anger to you, my disappointments, my frustration.

And finding that when I do,

When I stop struggling and shouting

And let go

You are still there.

Still loving.

 

Sometimes, Lord, often—

I don’t know what to say to you.

But I still come, in quiet

For the comfort of two friends

Sitting in silence.

And it’s then, Lord, that I learn most from you.

When my mind slows down,

And my heart stops racing.

When I let go and wait in the quiet,

Realizing that all the things I was going to ask for

You know already.

Then, Lord, without words,

In the stillness

You are there …

And I love you.

 

Lord, teach me to pray.

(Eddie Askew, A Silence and a Shouting)

Yes, teach me to pray.

One comment on “The Business of Life … Finding Time in the Busyness

Your Thoughts?

