In the Silence and the Shouting


rays of light through the forest

A prayer, after reading a quote by Frederick Buechner.

Speak to me, Lord, in the nonsense of my day. In the silence and in the shouting. In the laughter and in the tears.

Speak to me through it all, that through it, I may come to know who You are. And who I am.

Speak to me through it that I may know Your plan, and my part in it.

Your desires … and how I can fulfill them.

Your words … that change hearts and minds.

Speak to me, Lord, and do not let my heart, my mind, my soul, be so full of the things that do not last that I miss the one thing that is needful … that better part that shall not be taken away.

Let me sit at Your feet in the silence and the waiting.

Yet let me also sit at Your feet in the hustle and bustle and busyness.

For both are a very real part of life. But so often the listening in silence is drowned out by the constant noise. This is why I need to hear You speak through both. And why I need to turn my heart to listen.

Let me not neglect my Mary times at Your feet.

But when I must be in the kitchen, let me not be working so fast, nor my mind so full of myself and my own thoughts and feelings that I miss hearing Your still, small voice whispering comfort and peace to my heart.

Speak to me, Lord. In the silence and in the shouting.

And when You speak, may I always hear You and respond. 

One comment on “In the Silence and the Shouting

  1. foodloveinspiration says:

    Reblogged this on FoodLoveInspiration.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

