NaNoWriMo Day Two


NaNoWriMo Day 2

Words Written on Day One: 502

Total Words Written: 502

It hit me like an epiphanal lightning bolt. One major difficulty I face participating in NaNoWriMo.

It’s overwhelming.

No, not the 50,000-word goal. That’s doable. I’ve done it before. I’ve written over 100,000 in a month. (Yes, that was the era before I had children. How did you know?)

What is overwhelming is my mind telling me that if I am going to have enough self-discipline to write a little bit every day in my novel, I should automatically have the self-discipline to do all those other things I should be doing or have efforted to do over the years.

Suddenly I think of everything I have tried to incorporate into my daily schedule and feel that I should start them up as well. Making progress in my reading lists. Editing the current draft of my completed novel. Exercising every day (or at least doing a few crunches). Doing a project with my kids every evening. Flossing my teeth. They all jumble and jostle for first place in my mind and I begin to wonder why I ever started.

One thing at a time now.

Obviously, I can’t take it all on. But maybe I can take on something. One thing. Make a habit of that. And then incorporate other goals once I’ve gotten this one down. It is possible. It might take effort, but so do a thousand other things in life.

Just write, I tell myself. Finish this one thing first. Then take on the next. 

The thoughts still jumble and jostle, but I try to push them back, at least for a little while. To pray. To breathe. To dream. And to write.

5 comments on “NaNoWriMo Day Two

  1. silverwaters says:

    I can relate to this only too well! Learning to discipline myself while also not getting overwhelmed seems to be a regular struggle for me. One thing at a time.

    Like

    • Bonita Jewel says:

      I’ve started reading a book titled “Gift from the Sea” by Anne Morrow Lindbergh, and it’s about the constant struggle to stay centered and live a life of peace and grace in the midst of the busyness. Perfect book for me right about now. 🙂

      Like

  2. Slow down for a couple of seconds, relax, do nothing. It helps it all come together because you are you,

    Like

  3. Cassie Lane says:

    That’s the thing about committing to good habits, it brings on the urge to create more and more good habits! I’m facing a bit of the same!

    Like

Your Thoughts?

