NaNoWriMo Day Three


NaNoWriMo Day 3

Words Written on Day Two: 0

Total Words Written: 502

Off to a bad start, I know. My mom called me on Friday evening and said that one of the local libraries was having a book sale. Five bucks for a bag of books, all day Saturday. It would open at nine, and the earlier you got there, the better the selection of books.

I got up on Saturday morning earlier than I would have otherwise, woke the kids up earlier than they would have as well, and my husband dropped us off at my mom’s house before he headed into work. We went to the book sale … and we found books. Four paper bags between the five of us. I’m not sure how many my mom picked up for herself, but counting mine and that of my kids, we came home 95 books richer. My daughter got 30, I got 29, and the two boys picked out the rest.

I found a few steals. How Can I Find You, God? by Marjorie Holmes. Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Jacob’s Ladder by Noah ben Shea. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom. A few writing books, including an 896-pager called the Family Word Finder. I’ll never lack for another synonym.

Needless to say, it wasn’t easy to transition from reading to writing. I finally sat down at my husband’s laptop in the afternoon (my computer still on the blink), did some editing work, and was then ready to make some great progress in my novel, when hubby called me out to the backyard, as I had promised him I’d help him with the yard work. The kids joined us and we made some awesome progress outside on a beautiful afternoon.

Then there was cooking dinner (and cleaning up afterward). We had root beer floats and sang “Happy Birthday” to my husband, as he was working late on his birthday the previous day, so we hadn’t been able to celebrate it.

Oh, and I found a movie at the book sale, Return to Me, which I remember watching in the stage of my life when I loved romantic comedies, so I picked it up. We watched it (and I still liked it. One of the better romantic comedies, to be sure.)

And by then, it was past midnight. And not a NaNoWriMo word typed. But life, lived and loved, is always the material from which the greatest stories are found.

Your Thoughts?

