NaNoWriMo Day Four


NaNoWriMo Day Four

Words Written on Day Three: 721

Total Words Written: 1,223

Throughout the month of October, I tried to figure out which novel I would concentrate on. It wasn’t easy settling on one, not for lack of ideas, but for quite the opposite. I have nearly 50 ideas for novels in my mind. Some have as few as a few hundred words outlining the very basic story line. Others have up to 15,000 or so words written so far. But they’re obviously still far from complete.

On the 31st of October, I opened my excel file that has a comprehensive list of all my fiction and non-fiction ideas “in the works.” I read every title, considered it, felt a renewed inspiration to work on every single one of them, and remembered just how awesome some of those outlines are (complete with the debilitating thought that I’ll never do the subject justice on the awesome ones).

I finally decided on one (okay, so it was two; I settled on two and thought that I could just go back and forth between the two of them, depending on what I was inspired to write at any given moment).

Then on the first of November, fairly late in the evening, when I was getting nervous about not having written a single word yet, I pulled up that excel file one last time. I prayed one last time. And decided to work on something completely different from what I had originally chosen.

It was a book idea, a series actually (the only series in my list so far) that came to me a couple of years ago. About a year ago, I jotted down the outlines for half a dozen of the series. This first one had only a paragraph written up on it. I read that first paragraph and it just jumped out at me. Like it didn’t want to wait any longer.

So that’s the one I opted for. And I’m excited to be working on it. Every day more ideas about the story, more details, filter into my mind and I only hope for enough time in my days to write them all down.

Was it the Tortoise who said slow and steady wins the race? I think I’ll take that on as a motto this month.

6 comments on “NaNoWriMo Day Four

  1. Christopher Patterson says:

    Good luck with your NaNo, you have any plans on putting in a marathon day to make up the word count?

    Like

    • Bonita Jewel says:

      Thanks Christopher.
      Yes, Wednesdays and Fridays are my not-so-busy days so I’m hoping to play catch up on those days, if nothing else. 🙂 Are you doing NaNoWriMo?

      Like

      • Christopher Patterson says:

        I am doing NaNo for the first time this year. Tonight I went to a write in for the first time as well. You ever been to one?

        Like

        • Bonita Jewel says:

          No, I haven’t. What was it like? Did you find it helpful?

          Like

          • Christopher Patterson says:

            Well, first let me say I highly suggest you try it out for your own experience and don’t let me sway you one way or the other. For me it was kind of strange. I wrote less words than I normally do, mostly because I was busy eating a cookie and sipping on tea. I talked to a few other nano’s and that took a little time away from writing. So it seems to not be helpful right? However, I wrote a scene there that I think is one of my best yet. I’m not sure where it will fit in the story yet (I know that sounds weird, but the scene just kind of stuck me), but maybe the creativity vibe there brought out something different in me. I’m going to go to another one on Friday I think just to test this theory.

            Like

          • Bonita Jewel says:

            I would like to try a write-in sometime, Christopher. Glad it worked out well for you. And I know what you mean. Sometimes in the strangest places or ways we get hit with the greatest ideas and afterwards it’s like, “Where did that come from?”
            (And I don’t write in order either. My last novel was all over the place as I wrote it. Dialogue would start coming to mind about a certain scene near the end and I’d type it up and then go back to a place near the beginning, and then later I fleshed it all out and it’s not half bad. 🙂

            Like

Your Thoughts?

