NaNoWriMo Day Five


NaNoWriMo Day 5

Words Written on Day Four: 1,095

Total Words Written for NaNoWriMo: 2,324

I’m taking an English class in which all the students are English majors. I had been considering asking around, if it proved to be conducive, to see if anyone else was participating in NaNoWriMo.

Toward the end of the class today (the first class for the month of November), the professor asked everyone, “Does anyone know what month it is?”

The only thing that came to mind was the very thing I blurted out enthusiastically: “NaNoWriMo!” I was suddenly faced with a roomful of blank stares. The professor didn’t even seem to know what I was talking about. “National Novel Writing Month?” I said in a much more subdued voice.

He nodded. “Oh, yes, write a novel in a month’s time.” His tone of voice did not convey much enthusiasm for the idea. And it definitely was not what he was referring to. He went on to talk to the class about the deadline to registering for transfers by the end of the month (hence the question about the month of November).

I was slightly flabbergasted (and disappointed) at an English class void of enthusiasm about writing. I determined that, if I ever teach an English class — whether to elementary students or college-age students — I will strive to spread fervor for the joy of writing, even if it isn’t a writing class.

I shared the story with my husband when I got home, and he laughed harder and longer at this than at any joke I’ve ever told him. Well, if nothing else, a score of students at Fresno City College have now heard of NaNoWriMo, blurted out by an overeager classmate (who probably turned the soft shade of beets afterward).

Here’s to writing.

3 comments on “NaNoWriMo Day Five

  1. Sarah says:

    Haha thanks for sharing. This is my first year with any familiarity of NaNoWriMo (I am definitely considering actually participating next year) and after realizing how big of a deal it is, I’m surprised when people haven’t heard of it.

    Speaking of, if you have the time, you should participate in a round robin that’s going on on Twitter! Here are the details: http://www.thriftbooks.com/twitter-contest.aspx

    Like

Your Thoughts?

