NaNoWriMo Day 20


NaNoWriMo Day 20

Words Written on Day 19: 2,537

Total Words Written for NaNoWriMo: 22,554

This is the stage where I have the overall outline of the story written out in scattered scenes with quite a few gaps in between. I’ve got a vision or idea of the in-between, missing scenes, and now just have to flesh them out into words and sentences and paragraphs.

I was formulating one such scene while walking back to the car from campus when I had an awesome idea for one of my characters! AWESOME! I felt like, “Why did I never think of that before?”

The only problem is that the idea was not for my nanowrimo novel. It’s for another novel that I started when I was 17 or 18, put on ice for about seven years, started writing again at 25, and since then it’s been a stop-start session. I really like that story; it’s actually a trilogy (looking more like four books, in fact) and because it’s the story I’ve been gestating the longest, it has a special place in my heart. At the same time, I know it’s going to be a lot of work because when I started writing it I knew nothing about POV or imagery or symbolism or themes. It has nearly 20,000 words that I will probably need to throw away and start over (and I hate throwing stuff away).

But this is not supposed to be my November focus, so I’m making earnest attempts to stay focused on the topic at hand … unless I switch novels. Is that allowed during nanowrimo?

What do you do if/when you’re finding it difficult to focus on only one storyline at a time? How do you stay true to your inspiration when it seems to be all over the place on any given day? I’d be happy to hear from any writers/authors/aspiring writers. (You don’t have to be participating in nanowrimo.)

4 comments on “NaNoWriMo Day 20

  1. I think you have to write what you feel like writing. When you are captivated by a certain chapter/story/character, that’s when you will churn out your best writing.

    I know a lot of people who are working towards word counts on multiple novels. I’ve seen some people who credit blog posts about NaNoWriMo towards their goal word counts.

    Granted, there are tons of competitions and more structured environments and goals for NaNoWriMo that I’ve steered clear of, but I think that this month should be about pursuing challenging but attainable goals.

    Like

    • Bonita Jewel says:

      You’re right, Brantley. Inspiration counts for more in the long run, I think.
      If I used the word count of my posts about NaNoWriMo, I’d probably be over 50,000 by now, as I’ve been posting nearly every day about it. Didn’t even think of that. (Hmmmm.)
      I’m not part of any nano writing groups or write-ins, so I’m glad to be connecting with other writers through blogging. Keep in touch about your progress! 🙂

      Like

  2. Miranda Innaimo says:

    We almost have the same word count. Must. Keep. Writing! *eager*

    Like

Your Thoughts?

