NaNoWriMo Day 27


NaNoWriMo Day 27

Words Written on Day 26: 1,034

Total Words Written for NaNoWriMo: 28,081

Okay, so in the spirit of full disclosure, I’m going to admit one of the reasons my progress through nanowrimo has been rather unimpressive over the past week or so. I’ve gotten distracted with another writing project.

I finished the first draft of my first novel early this year. After my husband read it and gave me some suggestions, I revised it and sent it out to a number of friends and acquaintances, after which I went through it a third time. Then I didn’t touch it for five months. Let it settle a bit. I’m creating the fourth draft now. It’s amazing how many issues you notice after a five-month sabbatical from a story.

Why is it suddenly a priority when nanowrimo should obviously take precedence? Here’s the confession. I’m hoping to enter a writing contest. The deadline is the second of December. Yes, four days from now. I’m up to page 200 of 388. (Do you remember that thing I said the other day about writers not being quite normal? I was referring to decisions such as this.)

I had almost decided to let the contest deadline pass, but I was talking to the kids about it, and they all told me I had to enter because I would win. Yes, I know a child’s faith in a mother is probably one of the strongest natural elements in existence. But, hey, it doesn’t hurt to try.

Okay, so it might hurt a bit. There’s the cost of entering the contest. And there’s the issue of badly bruised ego if all I get in return is a scathing critique. But even that, if it serves the purpose of creating a stronger story, is worth it, right?

I would appreciate any prayers and happy thoughts over the next four days as I race toward that deadline, as well as the deadline of National Novel Writing Month. (Shouldn’t there be a dash between “novel” and “writing”?)

Your Thoughts?

