Little Disappointments … Stepping Stones


Today I’m thankful for little disappointments. Because they are not bigger; they aren’t the end of the world. Because it’s not really all that bad.

I had been revising my novel, working to revise the fourth draft, in order to complete it in time to enter a writing contest before the deadline. It was the primary reason that I didn’t hit the 50K nanowrimo goal. And I did it! Five hours before the contest closed, I submitted my novel.

I heard back today that they had to cancel the contest as they did not receive enough submissions. I was, ever-more-than-slightly, disappointed.

I told my husband about my disappointment. Right away he told me that at least it was ready for the next step, getting a few more critiques before working on the fifth (and hopefully final) draft before taking a step toward publication.

I told my daughter and she, at nine years old, immediately said something about God having a plan in it.

I told my sister and she said it wasn’t time wasted.

They are right.

It wasn’t time wasted. It wasn’t even money wasted. God does have a plan. And it is more reader-ready than it was a month ago.

And that’s why I’m thankful for little disappointments. Because, in reality, they probably shouldn’t be seen as disappointments at all … but stepping stones.

One comment on “Little Disappointments … Stepping Stones

  1. […] of all of the above. It was also a separate writing goal I had made, which turned into a “little disappointment” […]

    Like

Your Thoughts?

