NaNoWriMo Final Word Count


NaNoWriMo the end

Total Words Written for NaNoWriMo: 38,426

Sorry I am a little late in posting this, my final word count for National Novel Writing Month.

No, I did not reach the illustrious (and dare I say elusive) 50,000-word writing goal. I know I was not the only one. In one of the regular emails I’ve been receiving from the NaNoWriMo site, someone wrote the following:

“Sometimes a story won’t behave, sometimes time is at even more of a premium than usual, sometimes life just gets in the way: these are all perfectly fine reasons you and I may not have reached 50,000 words this past month.”

For me it was kind of all of the above. It was also a separate writing goal I had made, which turned into a “little disappointment” today.

There’s no way of knowing for sure why we don’t always reach the goals we make, especially when we try hard. But no effort is wasted effort. The story I began last month for nanowrimo just was not in the mood for coming together all in one month (few stories are, right?) but I know there will be a time that the characters decide to start bothering me while I’m washing dishes or pulling weeds and that will be the time to take it up and start writing again.

Until then, I have a few more writing projects that are nagging me … and I hope to be sharing more about them in the days to come. Until then, wishing you all a wonderful start to this Christmas season!

Your Thoughts?

